Chess – is philosophy of life     
Vasyl Ivanchuk   

BASIC RULES OF PLAY

4: THE ACT OF MOVING THE PIECES

4.1. Each move must be made with one hand only.

4.2. Provided that he first expresses his intention (for example by saying "j`adoube" or "I adjust")), the player having the move may adjust one or more pieces on their squares.

4.3. Except as provided in Article 4.2, if the player having the move deliberately touches on the chessboard:

(А) one or more of his own pieces, he must move the first piece touched which can be moved, or

(B) one or more of his opponent`s pieces, he must capture the first piece touched
which can be captured.

(С) 4.4. (А) If a player having the move deliberately touches his king and rook he must castle on that side if it is legal to do so.

(B) If a player having the move deliberately touches a rook and then his king he is not allowed to castle on that side on that move and the situation shall be governed by Article 4.3.a

(С) If a player having the move intending to castle, touches the king or king and rook at the same time, but castling on that side is illegal, the player must make another legal move with his king which may include castling on the other side). If the king has no legal move, the player is free to make any legal move.

(D If a player promotes a pawn, the choice of the piece is finalised, when the piece has touched
the square of promotion.

4.5. If none of the pieces touched can be moved or captured, the player may make any legal
move.

4.6. When, as a legal move or part of a legal move, a piece has been released on a square, it
cannot be moved to another square on this move. The move is then considered to have
been made when all the requirements of Article 3 is fully implemented.:

(A) in the case of a capture, when the captured piece has been removed from the
chessboard and the player, having placed his own piece on its new square, has
released this capturing piece from his hand;

(B) in the case of castling, when the player`s hand has released the rook on the square
previously crossed by the king. When the player has released the king from his
hand, the move is not yet made, but the player no longer has the right to make any
move other than castling on that side, if this is legal;

(C) in the case of the promotion of a pawn, when the pawn has been removed from the
chessboard and the player`s hand has released the new piece after placing it on the
promotion square. If the player has released from his hand the pawn that has
reached the promotion square, the move is not yet made, but the player no longer
has the right to play the pawn to another square.

4.7 A player forfeits his right to a claim against his opponent`s violation of Article 4 once he
deliberately touches a piece.

 

< Prev  |  Сontent  |  Next >

World Chess News

Chess puzzles
Interesting facts